Shrimp Gnocchi with Cashews in Cream Sauce

March 2, 2011 at 4:08 am (diabetes) (, )

I like to experiment in the kitchen and tonight turned out a winner.   🙂

Last week my husband and I bought some prepared gnocchi from Target.  It was their Archer Farm brand and only cost about $4.  I figured it would be either really good or really bad.  It was definitely good!  While the gnocchi (which is based on the Italian word for “knee”) was coming to a boil I made a light sauce out of a pint of heavy whipping cream and about 4 tablespoons of Classico’s pesto and olive oil mix.  As it was simmering I mixed in about ¾ of a pound of small shrimp and a cup of cashews.  When the gnocchi was done I drained it and tossed it in the cream and shrimp mixture.  After placing the pasta mix in a bowl, I topped it with some shredded cheese.  It was a tasty dish with a light flavor and a fun texture.  I guess it was good since Husband finished his portion, ate the last ¼ of mine, and finished off what was left in the pot!

How is this dish for a diabetic?  Well, the gnocchi is high in carbs but it was the only high carbohydrate item in the dish.  The cream has less than 1 gram of carbs.  The cheese and shrimp are both fine for a diabetic to eat as they contain pretty much no carbs and sugars and add protein to the dish.  The cashews are high in fiber but also high in fat, not a great addition, but fair if eaten in moderation.  This was definitely a dish that fits my dietary restrictions and satisfies Wyatt’s appetite!

This brings up a new question, what sort of dietary restrictions do I face as a diabetic?  Everybody knows that diabetics shouldn’t eat sugar, but I never really thought about the role that carbohydrates play in this.  Carbohydrates are converted to sugar.  Sugar raises the blood glucose level and that is where my problems arise.  I’m learning! Breakfast is very important to helping me not have any spikes or lows.  Right now I am trying to manage my diabetes through diet and exercise, but I have a sneaky feeling that I’ll probably start using medication to manage this in a few months, probably by the beginning of the summer. 

Well, here you are.  A brief recipe and review with a little more information about me.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

