Dating after marriage

March 5, 2011 at 1:02 am (family) ()

One of the things that my husband and I both feel strongly about is that we still need to go on dates.  We aim for one or two a month,  but these dates also cause a little friction between us.

One of the things you will learn about me is that I am a planner.  I love to plan things, especially things that won’t happen (like a 4 week vacation to Paris and London…sigh).   Before you ask yourself what that has to do with dates, allow me to answer.  I like to plan dates.  I love spending a few hours online looking for fun things to do  in the area we moved to about 8 months ago.  I usuallyhave  a blank text message saved on my phone that I save date ideas into.   One that I am currently saving for a nice day is a trip to some local batting cages.  My husband played baseball in college, and high school, and middle school, and probably even before then.   He loves baseball.   The thing about baseball…that was a random aside.  Forgive me.

Why do dates (pleasant) cause friction (unpleasant)?  Well, I plan most of our dates.  Like, it’s been at least 6 or 7 monrhs since Husband has planned a date.  So he planned one for tonight.  But it is 5 p.m. and I am still sitting at work, waiting on him, the work that got done at 3:15 this afternoon.  I have no idea what we are doing tonight, except food better be a part of it.   I am so excited that he is planning a date for us, but jeez I wish I knew what we were doing and that he was here! Not that I am a control freak…

On a happy note, Target has yummy trail mix on sale this week (munch, munch, munch) and a friend offered me free tickets to a bunch of Oakland A’s games (his favorite team).  They work at the stadium and get tons of tickets…coolness.

Leave a Reply

