Such a Monday!

March 7, 2011 at 7:55 pm (family, teaching) (, , )

Hello.  May I just say that my Monday isn’t even half over and I do not know if I am going to survive this week!  I have parents complaining about grades and about assignments.  I have students who absolutely refuse to listen in class and parents wonder why their child gets in trouble.  I even have students who behave in such a way that it borders on sexual harassment.  And the thing is, I like my students, I like my job, I like my school.  I have a student who isn’t even in my class who does her best to make sure things go roughly for me!  Each day I realize that I am not cut out to teach junior high.  I do not have the patience or the fortitude! God bless those who do!!! I envy the teachers who are called to teach junior high. 

I am sure many of you are familiar with March Madness. I don’t actually know what it is and think it has something to do with basketball.  Anyways, I heard a fellow teacher today use the term to describe how hard March is on teachers because we do not have any 3-day weekends or other no school days.  And they are right.  It’s only the 7th but I can already tell that March is going to be one stressful month!  In addition to different evening school activities for math and art, we also have missions stuff going on for my fast approaching trip to Ecuador with 8-9 students, I am starting an independent study class through FPU, I have various parent-teacher meetings scheduled, and it’s all stressful!

That being said, Husband did a great job planning a date on Friday.  He took me out for dinner and then drove me to a day spa where I had a one-hour professional massage…heavenly!  He is the best!!!  According to him, he hates that I have been so stressed and thinks that we need to make sure that I routinely have some way to relax,  and since he knows that I carry stress in my neck and back, massage it is! Now, I am not counting on something like this every few weeks, but perhaps I will get to know the people who run the massage place at the mall.  We could swing $40 every few weeks.   Have I mentioned that I love him!!!!!

Church is going well.  We’ve missed a few weeks here and there with being sick, but I love how supportive  everybody has been!  I just adore doing children’s church because it lets me love on the little ones.  They are so excited about everything and that’s what I need. I need the reminder that God is something to get excited about!  It’s so easy to fall into a rut and just stop being dedicated. 

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

