Sing a song of sixpence…

March 22, 2011 at 7:04 pm (life, teaching)

This Friday night is Arts, Etc.  It’s a night to celebrate the amazing talent of the 7-12th graders at the junior/senior high school that I teach at.  I’m really looking forward to the event, and since I am one of the coordinators, I thought things were going really well.    At least, I thought that until yesterday, when the other coordinator, who is 6 1/2 months pregnant, was put on at least a week’s worth of bedrest.  She will not be coming to Arts, Etc, will not be getting her choirs ready, and will not be there managing the volunteers or co-emceeing with me. 

 Now I know that her problem is infinitely more important!  Her health and the health of her baby girl is worth so so so much more than this, but I am a little freaked out!  There is a part of me that just wants to cancel everything and say forget it, but I don’t want to do that to the students.  They have worked really hard for this chance and I do not want to be the one who cancels, so what is a girl to do?  Well, I am pairing up with the vice-principal to reorganize a few things.  I am also depending a lot more on our band teacher.  She is going to be helping our choirs get ready and may be accompanying a few of the performances.  Absolutely huge mad props to her for helping!

What does this teach us?  Well, God is awesome at pulling us out of our comfort zones and putting us in the spotlight when we’d rather just stay in the background.  Also, He is there to remind us that we can do all things through Him because our strength is from Him, not us!

Leave a Reply

