My husband brought me flowers for Veteran’s Day

November 12, 2011 at 12:18 am (Intro)

and I am not a Veteran. My dad was though, and for some reason his being gone hits hardest on Veteran’s Day and July 4th. He was a man who was dedicated to his country. He served in the Navy during WWII and told me that if he could, he would have gone over to Afghanistan/Iraq (mind you he was already 81 when 9-11 happened). On October 7, 2006 he passed away due to complications from his asbestosis. He contracted asbestosis when he worked on the ships that were lined with asbestos. I am so blessed to have had the father that I had for the 20 years that I was blessed to have him.
On Veteran’s Day, I also pay tribute to both of my half-brothers, my Uncle Joe, several cousins, and my wonderful father-in-law. We are all so blessed by those who gave of their time, and even of their lives, defending our freedom.

1 Comment

  1. mrslillybrat said,

    this literally made me tear up at my desk. what a beautiful gesture on your husband’s part.

Leave a Reply

