The Saturday Scrambles

December 8, 2011 at 11:40 pm (Intro)

Busy weekend ahead!  This Saturday night is the biggest fundraiser of the year for the women’s ministry department of my church.  We host a 2 hour dessert and concert event, limited only to 80 women. The only men present are the servers!  I’ve been blessed to be a part of this for the second year, and both times I’ve had the enormous role of being in charge of the raffle baskets.  I round up donations (around 25) of baskets worth at least $20, make sure the are all put together (most are given to me in a bag with a “you’ll wrap it, right?”) sell the raffle tickets night of, and during the event I deliver the baskets as the winners are drawn.  It’s a lot of fun, but a huge amount of responsibility as well.  This year I also made a dessert because something sugar-free was requested and everybody else feels that sugar is needed in any dessert. I work from 10:30-6:30 tomorrow night, and then have to make the 1:15 drive to church (it’s only 30 mins from our house) to help set up and finish wrapping last minute baskets.  I also have to take my dessert, blueberry shortcake, and have it all set for Saturday. 

 My mother-in-law and her mother-in-law (Hubs’ grandma) are going with me Saturday night, but I have to be there 45 minutes early, so they’ll get to hang out with me then too. Did I mention they are coming over for an early supper Saturday? With my father-in-law? They’ll be there at 4:30, probably a few minutes before I get there since I work Saturdays at the salon. Oh boy.  We’re doing pot roast in the crock pot (or I’m asking Hubs to pick up Chinese), then I’ll change quickly and we’ll dash over for an evening of fun and music.  I am very much looking forward to it, but wow, it’s going to be a busy weekend. 

Leave a Reply

