Sometimes when …

January 9, 2012 at 11:56 pm (Intro) (, , )

Sometimes when life is getting me down, I make lists. I am especially fond of to-do lists, and may or may not include teeny-tiny things that I’ve already finished in order to cross something off of the list.  I was reading a fun new blog today that made a list of 5 things she loved and 5 things she hated about where she currently lived (Albania).  I thought that might be a fun thing for me to try, but small scale.

3 things I hate about the Bay Area:

1. Traffic is horrible.  It seems like going anywhere from 7-9 a.m. and 4-7 p.m. is too ridiculous to even contemplate.  My normal commute of 25-30 minutes can grow to well over an hour.

2. Life is expensive. My mom rents a 2 bedroom house in Chico for the same as what we pay for a relatively small 1 bedroom apartment. 😦  Gas, groceries, entertainment, all is more expensive here.

3. Pollution is pretty bad here. Yes, we do get fabulous sunsets because of it, but the air quality can be stinky.

3 things I love about the Bay Area:

1. Public transportation can take you almost anywhere.  There is a train station that is a 5 minute drive from my house (but parking can be tricky) and by work, there is a station that is only a 7 minute walk away.

2. Choice! Yes, life is more expensive here, but we have so many choices for what to eat, where to go, what to do, it can be hard to decide.

3. Everything is central to here.  My mom is three hours north, his family is an hour to the South.  Nevada is a 3.5 hour drive away (we totally went once!). LA is only 6 hours south of here.  In a matter of hours, we can go practically anywhere, including west into the ocean.

Leave a Reply

