Weights and Measures

January 4, 2013 at 4:47 pm (Intro)

I need to brag just a little bit!

I am 11 days postpartum, and I am happy with my weight…for once! 

I’ve always had weight issues; since childhood I’ve been heavy.  Without going into specific numbers, I was way too heavy, but nothing much was done about it.  My sophomore year of high school, my mom, sister, and I joined Curves but that only lasted a few months.  During that time, my weight dropped down to a point where the middle digit was a 5. That’s the only number I’m giving you. 🙂

Between college and three years of marriage, I reached my heaviest, about 15 pounds heavier than my sophomore year of high school.  That’s where I was when I started this pregnancy.

As soon as I found out that I was pregnant, I started on a diabetic diet and over the first half of the pregnancy, I lost 12 pounds and then slowly gained a total of 16. This meant that at delivery, I weighed 4 pounds more than my pre-pregnancy weight.  I thought I’d step on a scale today, 11 days post-partum, just to see what the scale said.  The last time I stepped on this scale I started crying because it was really far off (almost 10 pounds heavier than what the doc’s scale said a day later). Today that same persnickety scale said that I was at my lightest pregnancy weight…the same as my sophomore year of high school!  When we take baby to her 2 week appointment on Tuesday, I may ask to hop on their scale, but regardless of the number it reads, I’m already happy with my weight. And I don’t say that lightly!

 

Pumping is a good thing!

4 Comments

  1. mrslilybugg said,

    Oh my goodness, amazing!!! Can you describe your diet that helped u lose your first half of pregnancy???

    • maisymay said,

      Sure. It’s not super strict, but does require you to be semi-knowledgable about what you are eating. If you have any questions, just let me know!

      Breakfast:
      1-2 starchs (carbs)
      1-2 proteins
      1 fat (optional

      Morning snack:
      1 dairy
      1 starch (can be replaced with 1 fruit)
      1 protein

      Lunch:
      1 milk
      2 starch
      2 protein
      1 vegetable
      1 fat

      Afternoon snack:
      1 starch
      1 protein
      1 fruit
      1 fat

      Dinner:
      1 milk
      3 protein
      2 starch
      1 fruit
      1-2 fat

      Snack:
      1-2 starch
      1-2 protein
      1 fat

      The idea is to eat every 2 1/2 to 3 hours that you are awake.
      Starches are just carbs, protein can be meat, nuts, anything.

      • mrslilybugg said,

        Thanks you!! So for example breakdast can be two slices toast (for 1-2 starch) and some almonds (1 protein)?

  2. maisymay said,

    Try to balance the number of carbs and proteins. So if you have 2 slices of toast (2 carbs), have the serving of almonds and a serving of cheese too (1 oz of cheese = a protein).

Leave a Reply

