Mental Health and Maternity Leave

January 19, 2013 at 6:47 pm (Intro)

I’m realizing that even though I only have a few weeks of maternity leave left, I still need to make sure to take care of my mental health.  Staying home with an infant all of the time isn’t easy, especially if you are an extrovert.  I enjoy my job, and miss working with people, interacting with adults. Don’t get me wrong, I adore my little girl, but that doesn’t mean that this is easy, or fun.  I do like the naps though.

     My solution is making sure that Hubs gets some time with LO while I get out of the house.  This means letting him take care of an evening while I go do errands or just get out. Today is Saturday and Hubs is finally on his way home.  He ended up logging over 50 hours of work this week, leaving home while it was still dark and getting home after dark each day.  When he does get home tonight, I will be changing out of my pajamas, putting on real clothes, and going to Home Depot and Jo-ann’s.  I’ll probably grab dinner with just myself and a book or else spend some time reading at Starbucks. 

   Also, LO isn’t nursing, rather I pump and then we bottle feed.  On nights when Hubs doesn’t have to work the next day, he’s supposed to be responsible for all of LO’s feeds.  He doesn’t normally do both of them though.  I hear her wake up and there are times when it’s just easier for me to do it, especially if it’s the 2 a.m. feeding when I need to pump again.  At least having him take one of the feedings is better than none.

   I’m quickly learning that as a mom, you have to find ways to take care of yourself, in whatever ways you can.  I need at least a few hours a week to myself.  I also need to go back to work, but I have to wait at least a few more weeks for that.  I’ll probably go back at 7 weeks postpartum. She’s worth it though!Image

She’ll be 4 weeks on Monday!

 

1 Comment

  1. mrslilybugg said,

    She is so beautiful! That cow blankie throw looks cozy!! Good for you that you are making/finding time for yourself 🙂

Leave a Reply

