Challenges of parenting

March 22, 2013 at 1:14 pm (Intro) (, , , )

Being a parent is a challenge.  Make the child an infant, toss in parents who both work, and stir in a pile of other obligations and life is very challenging. That’s my apology for not being on here much lately! Instead of posting some original thoughts, I thought I’d share what others have written, specifically about raising a little girl.

First: http://www.cheetosforbreakfast.com/2013/03/a-letter-to-young-mothers.html?m=1

This post discusses not judging mothers and the importance of relying on Christ.

Second: http://wearethatfamily.com/2013/03/raising-daughters-in-a-world-that-devalues-them-7-things-we-must-tell-them/

The importance of raising Godly girls and the challenge of modesty. 

Third: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=omBfg3UwkYM&feature=youtu.be

This is a Dove video (yeah, the soap commercial) that shows the transition from an average person to a photoshopped ad on a billboard. This is so eye-opening!

6 Comments

  1. mrslilybugg said,

    How have you handled going back to work? Are you back fulltime or part-time? I need to start thinking about how much I’ll be able to “scale back” at work after the baby is born!

    • maisymay said,

      Back to work has been great for all of us. We definitely need the money, I appreciate the mental health aspects of working with people who actually talk back, and A appreciates the socialization at day care. She absolutely loves it there! I’m back about 30 hours a week, 4 days a week. Work has been very understanding about DH and I both needing to juggle things. For instance, he can’t go in on a day off if I am scheduled to work, stuff like that. There are definitely good things about working with a spouse!

      • mrslilybugg said,

        oh good, I’m so glad that you’ve found a happy balance! 🙂 I’m aiming to go back 3x per week, and maybe my DH can have one afternoon off or something (my position at work has more back-up than his position at his office). It’s scary to think so far ahead though, so I’m sticking my head back in the sand. LOL

  2. maisymay said,

    DH and I balance it by not working the same hours. He works from 7-3, and I work 11-7. Work is about 30 minutes from home, so we get next to 0 alone time together, but for now, it’s work it. LO is in daycare from 10-4, 4 days a week, so more like 24 hours instead of 30.

  3. lizzie said,

    Are you two women raising a baby? So sweet! 🙂

    • maisymay said,

      Nope, DH is definitely my husband. But I do think we are pretty sweet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

